Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Cars help us move from one place to the other, easier and more private than any other transportation choice. In the contemporary world, using cars is exaggerated and causes immense problems for the surrounding environment. Though some people believe that using cars will grow in the upcoming years, I believe that utilizing cars will diminish in twenty years from now.

First of all, increasing the development of technology leads to more efficient public transportation and it is not hard to imagine a day in which vast groups of people move from one point to the other, just by using the modern technology invented to convey this population. Development in technology can also lead to more localized activities, such as working online or finding jobs or other activities that implement movement in our peripheral area. For instance, freelancer jobs reached their peak in the 2020 outbreak of coronavirus, when social distancing inhibited people from going out. In twenty years, it is foreseeable that the online world permits people from working from their homes, and using cars decreases as a consequence.

Second, cars deal significant damage to the environment and climate, by polluting the air we breathe and burning fossil fuels. Countries should stop being passive and authorities should end protecting major automobile companies, in order to prevent them from manufacturing air-polluting cars. Even if companies find a way to produce environmentally friendly cars, a reduction in the number of their products should not be neglected. The fewer cars a company produces, the fewer cars people can buy and it is an indirect way of lowering the use of cars and helping humanities to breathe.

To conclude, in twenty years, I think that roads will be depleted of cars and technology will cause major shifts in the transportation industry. Automobiles will not be functioning as they are today and future generations will not need to use personal cars in order to move privately to other places and there will be other ways of transport in use. Consequently, the shape of modern cities alters by reducing the need for multiple lane highways. Streets and urban landscape will also change, displacing by new-generation vehicles, pedestrian walkways, etc.