Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Contrary to the common statement that classes and libraries are more important than sports and social activities, I firmly believe that sports and social activities, an indispensable part of student' life, should receive comparative attention as classes and libraries. Thus, sports and social activities are supposed to receive equal financial support as classes and libraries.

First and foremost, sports help improves health and keep students away from diseases. Lack of exercises make me exposed to viruses and diseases easily. Once I caught a cold and fever, I have to stay at the dorm. Absent from classes impedes my further study. Apart from that, playing sports with others promotes friendship and teamwork awareness. Playing sports such as basketball and football, of course, requires the cooperation between team members. Such skills definitely aid in group projects where everyone is required to play a specific role and work together. Only by making joint efforts can they achieve great accomplishments. Also, sports, as a special relish of university life, frees students from arduous assignments, projects and thesis for a little while, and feeds students with energy, passion and innovation.

A second perspective that should not be overseen is that social activities builds up confidence, enhance the communication skills and offer students with practical knowledge that cannot be learned at classes or libraries. I was used to be afraid of doing presentations in English in class and in public. Attending the English Corner, an English communication club at school, has changed the situation. In the club, I was encouraged to speak English in front of a group of students and share ideas with others, including native English speakers. Due to the communication skills learned at the club, I outperformed others in the final presentation in the class. Besides, the diversity of the students in the club enables us to We learn about the culture differences between different countries and areas.

Admittedly, classes and libraries provide students with varieties of knowledge and is essential for students better academic performance. Nevertheless, by playing sports and taking part in social activities, not only can students improve their cardiovascular and muscular strength, endurance, flexibility and hand-eye coordination, but they will also learn perseverance, goal-setting, collaboration.

On the basis of the above discussion, under no circumstances should universities and colleges overlook the significant role that sports and social activities play in students' daily life, nor should they invest less budget in these areas.