Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

I firmly believe that movies and television programs provide more positive effects on the way young people behave. Movies and television programs, as part of contemporary media, provide a variety of information to the public, especially the youth. Modern movies and television programs enable young people to discover the diversity of species with Planet Earth, learn the history of America with The Story of US, feel the love and warmth between people with Love Actually. They broaden our horizons, teach us to distinguish between the virtue and the devil and promote our confidence when faced with difficulties.

First and foremost, movies and television offer us with abundant knowledge and even guide us in career choices. When I was a high school student, I used to watch the movie The Imitation Game. Besides being deeply impressed by the intelligence of Turing and his story with computer, I got to know about the subject computer science and became fascinated about it. Finally, I determined to major in computer science when I graduated from high school. Thanks to the movie, I became a software engineer. Otherwise, I probably would not be able to explore the mysterious world of computer science.

A second factor that we should overlook is that movies and televisions can document cruelty events happened around world and teach us to be kind. For example, the documentary movie The Cove chronicles the horrendous hunting of whales. The movie records the cruelty that human being has committed against whales. After watching the movie, I feel extremely sorry for what human being has done to other species on the world without mercy. I joined the World Animal Protection organization, appealing people around the world to care for the endangered animals.

Last but not least, movies and televisions also help build up our confidence when we are trapped in adversity. Forrest Gump have been one of my favorite movie for a long period. Every time I faced with difficulties, I would watch the movie and encourage myself to face the hardship with more confidence.

Admittedly, there are unhealthy movies and undesirable television programs that can mislead the behavior of young people such as violence. Nevertheless, as long as the government make strict regulations on the media industry and audit movies carefully, movies and television programs can have long-term benefit on the young people and guide them towards the right direction.

On the basis of the above discussion, I strongly hold the belief that movies and televisions play a positive role in terms of the influence that they have brought to young people.