Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should give the same amount of money to their student's sports activities as they give to their universities libraries.

No one can neglect the importance of recreational activities. Thousands years ago the ancient Greek spoke about the importance of physical exercises in order to obtain mentality and clear thought. I support this beliefs however in my opinion there is no need for universities to spend for sport activities as much money as for libraries.

First of all, we have to consider that universities have limited amount of money which are given by the government. Hence, they have to manage and spend these money based on specific hierarchical criteria. The prime purpose of universities are to provide knowledge to students. In order to be able to do this libraries must be prioritized. Libraries should be large enough in order to avoid circumstances in which students cannot find a seat in library. Moreover, universities should spend a lot of money in order to buy books. For example, let us suppose a university with limited bookstore and a student who wants to rent a book for his finals. If the book is not available then the failure of the student is inevitable. From this example, we can see that the main purpose of universities is omitted because students do not have the necessary tools to obtain knowledge.

Secondly, I believe that sports activities can be efficient without to consume a large amount of money. It is not necessary for the university to possess the newest and best training tools. There are alternative ways of training. Like playing football, basketball running etc. Apparently, we have to remember that sport activities in universities is a way to be relaxed and more efficient. However it should not be our top priority.

To summarize, taking all the arguments into account it is obvious that universities should search for a golden rule in which libraries should be prioritized and sports should not neglected.