Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The way a person dresses reflects his/her characters. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People nowadays dress up in varieties of ways and relatively freer than people in the past, so that a general perception emerged, which says the way a person dresses reflects characters. I am not all for it and consider that dress styles have little to do with characters.

Admittedly, people are more willing to choose what they like and follow their hearts, in some extent, follow their characters. Take my mom and aunt, for example, though they are sisters, they prefer totally different dress styles. My mom always wears high quality shirt and pants or some coats in dark color, on the contrary, my aunt has a fondness for bright skirt. And their characters comfort to their clothes completely. To be more specific, mom is mature and steady and loves reading book quietly. But my aunt is interested in entertainment with great enthusiasm oppositely. It is spontaneous to pick up the clothes according to the personality, so dresses can reflect people’s characters now and then.

However, it is the fact that not everyone has the chance to dress up as prefer. People maybe not allowed to get dress in their styles or need to dress up differently in special situations. If parents regard short skirt as the bad designed clothes, no matter how deeply you love it, you are still asked to stay away from skirt and wear long dress which is out of your character since parents think it looks more dignified. And for people in social situations, they are supposed to concern on surrounding and then decide what to dress. Such as teacher, this specific career requires them to select clothes that makes them appear more intellectual and helps them establish authority among the students. It is hard to imagine a teacher standing in front of the class wearing gym suit even she is active and a sports fun. It proves that it is impossible to figure out characters from people’s dressing styles.

Furthermore, it is also common that in order to pursue change, some people tend to wear clothes that are contrary to their personalities. The best approach to create different version of yourself is starting to change the dressing style. Sweet girl may begin to wear leather coat after breaking up with boyfriend; easy going person will turn t-shirt into suit when decide to become a successful businessman; spice girl gets off her heels because she got married and prepares to have a child. Dressing what you like is not rely on the person what you are, it is relative to numerous reasons. That why I mentioned that judging people by appearances is a superficial and incorrect way.

To put it in a nut shell, although there are some cases that people’s dressing styles reflect their characters, they make a choice through many other factors, such as social environment, parents’ influence and the desire to change. Thus, it is justified to say the way a person dresses reflects characters.