Do you agree or disagree with the following statement When teachers assign projects on which students must work together the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects Use specific reasons and examples to supp

Group assignments are common in college and even in high school now. There is a widespread belief that working together can promote students to cooperate with their classmates. From my perspective, however, working alone will be more effective for several reasons.

In the first place, finishing assign projects independently can promote student's research skill. As we know, the first step of the assignment is to find related information for the topic. In the process of searching the files they need, they can acquire skills such as dealing with data. As a result, if students can finish all the assignments on their own, they can get access to more information and master their research skills by practising a lot. On the contrary, if a student is working in a group, some other students might take responsibility for gathering information. Thus, some students will never have a chance to put the theory of searching into practice. Therefore, working alone can be more beneficial in their research in the long run.

Furthermore, working alone can help students to get the whole picture of the assignment. One assignment contains several stages or parts requiring different skills to accomplish. If you try to figure it out independently, a reasonable connection between each part should be clear in the student's mind. It is helpful for students to form a style of logical thinking. For instance, to construct a mathematic model, students need to follow the assumption, build a model and test the model. Once working alone, students can learn the characteristics of each stage and so have a deeper understanding of mathematical models. However, when the assignment is allocated to each member, the connection may not be so strong because the logic is incoherent. Hence, working alone enables all stages of the assignment under their own

In conclusion, working alone will be more effective due to the improvement of research skills and logical thinking.