Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?
Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.
Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.
I disagree with the statement above. Although I admit that honesty should be one of the most
important consideration in human relationship, sometimes white-lies are neccessary not to
damage the relationship.
First, it is not good to tell someone his or her faults or defects directly. By doing so, you might
feel good about telling the truth, but it could hurt the people who will listen. It is naturl that
people make mistakes and not everyone is perfect. Despite those shortcomings, we live together
by understanding each other and tolerate those errors as we could be the one who makes the same
mistakes next time. By being pointed out our mistakes or things other people think abominable,
such as the way we look, the clothes we wear, the way we talk and so on, we might hate the
person who criticize us rather than being thankful or correcting those.
Second, it is better not to tell someone serious facts that can possibly discourage him or her. I
speak this from my experience. About one year ago, my nephew got into a terrible car accident
and the doctor said he won’t be able to walk again. We were all shocked and felt desprate.
However, my other nephews decided not to tell the fact to their mother as she could pass off or be
shocked to generate other problems of her own. I felt guilty about not telling the truth to her, who
was relieved and became hopeful by the white-lies that her son would be okay. One year since,
my nephew is getting better and his mother has been a good supporter. If we had told her the
truth, she would have been so desparate that she couldn’t have taken good care of her son and her
own health would have been in danger.
All in all, even though honesty is obviously great virtue, “always telling the truth” is not the key
to maintaining good human relationship. By refraining from telling the truth in certain occasions,
we prevent other people from being hurt by the remarks.