Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Always telling the truth in a relationship has been a controversial issue in the community. While some people think that always telling the truth have some serious risks, others argue that it offers a number of benefits. Though both sides have noteworthy props and cons, I believe that always telling the truth is the most important consideration in a relationship. My point of support will be revealed in the following paragraphs.

First of all, trust is a fragile notion that if you lose someone's trust, your chance to gain that trust again would be very low. Furthermore, if you tell a lie, you will eventually be caught. It will not be hidden forever. For example, when we first met with my wife, I told her some lies about my job to affect her. Later, I forgot what I told about my job and my lies exposed. Those days were the worst days of my life and I tried so hard to gain my wife's trust again. Even now, after years, I am not sure if she trust me completely.

Secondly, empathy plays an important part in relations. For instance, I grow up with a motto that "If you don't want to be treated badly, do not treat people badly". Therefore, if you don't want to be lied, basically, don't lie. Even though you think you will be upset in the end, you must be honest. It's a nobel behaviour. Being trustworthy is important.

In the light of the things that I mentioned about, always telling the truth has a vital importance in relationships and trust is a strong feeling that can make people connected and close. On the other hand, it is also a fragile feeling that you must take care of it well.