Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

For an individual’s overall development, one must be good at extra curriculum activities like sports and social works apart from just studies. One learns myriad of life lessons and the ways he could contribute to the society when he indulges in any extra curricular activities. Since, these activities hold equal importance as studies in the society, universities and colleges should provide equal financial support for sports and social activities as they provide for classes and libraries. Although, some people might disagree with this, I completely support this claim because of following reasons.

First and foremost, when it comes to future opportunities, there are plenty of options that open up when we are well versed in all the fields like studies, sports, public speaking or social activities. The veracity of this claim can be evaluated by putting light to the mass of instances. Tv reporter, sportsman like a cricketer, footballer, etc, social activist like environmentalist are few examples of the alternative fields that person can pursue after his university. Everyone might not be good at studies. Some might be good at sports and by providing equal financial support to these activities, universities will encourage the students to put more attention to what they are good at and follow their dreams.

Furthermore, at last we all have to adhere to the social norms and what the society expects. Social activities enable an individual to contribute to the society from an early stage. One gets aware of the social problems and brainstorm to solve it or support it. Only if university supports this good work, the student will be successful in aiding the society. For an example, for supporting the flood victims in a city, students in social activity team might require fund and university should support its students to provide a hand to the drowning victims. Moreover, when it comes to sports, I believe, even when one is not pursuing it as an occupation, it still allows one to make new friends and social contacts. For an instance, I, myself being a voracious tennis player have made a lot of social contacts, which I believe is quite helpful.

Last but not the least, these activities are also source of entertainment and way of learning new aspects of life. For an instance, any university fests will consist of some sport competitions for entertainment and some social activity event to spread important social messages to everyone. The university in which I studied had these events part of any fest.

In summary, as sports and social activities contribute in abundance to an individual and the society, they must be given equal financial assistance in the university. Studies are important, but they are incomplete without these extra learning that we get from extra curriculum activities. Hence, for the betterment of everyone, these activities must face equality with respect to finances in universities and colleges.