Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People take diverse views toward choosing career paths or jobs while trying to confirm a secure and prosperous future. A controversial question is often raised regarding this issue is whether it was easier in the past to set a career path and move in that direction. People of different generation might have conflicting views on that topic. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree with the statement that it is much more difficult to choose a career nowadays. To support my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a brief summary with reasons and examples.

First of all, nowadays field of career is very diverse and people have to choose from numerous options. Recent discoveries and research break down a subject to smaller parts which ultimately give rise to another career path. Hence, it is becoming more and more tough to take decision about topic that should be chosen for a secured future. For instance, consider a student of computer science who is planning to pursue higher degree on some topic related to his domain. In the past, there were a few topics under that domain like operating system, algorithm, software engineering etc. However, with the development of technology, research is now conducted on numerous topic in this domain like machine learning, data science, cryptography. Therefore, a student need to identify his strength and interest and choose accordingly.

In addition, career or job field is changing rapidly, and sometimes it is so unstable and insecured that it would be very tough to predict about chance of being successful. New technology or change in government policy or funding on new research might some critical factor that diminishes other career path. For example, when I was a undergraduate student, EEE was the most demanding domain in engineering sector and I chose to pursue my career in that domain. But after some years, job fields in that domain became saturated and after completion of my undergraduate degree, it was hard to get opportunity in limited number of job sectors. This dramatic change happened much faster then previous and therefore it is tough to identify that some field would survive well in future.

Finally, as people are now more focused on career from early age and many students plan to pursue higher degree to make future more secured, now there is much more competition in every sector. It is known that, only some already established university or institution can provide advance research opportunities, although number of students is increasing day by day. Therefore, it becomes harder for a student and need to really proof himself to get funding for research work or to be employed in a company.

To sum up, on the basis of examples that were mentioned above, it is clear that now it is harder to identify career path compared to the past.