Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them, today young people are better able to make decision for their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your response.

Gone are the days when people were highly attached to their parents. From my vantage point, people now are more reliable on themselves. Some conducive factors are advent of Internet, better economic chances and proliferation of population and connections.

First and for most, this new-born phenomenon called "Internet" has led people to find their own path in life solitarily. People today, via Internet are able and entitled to ask hundreds of thousands questions with respect to their decisions. Their inquires may range from very basic questions like "what is the best paying job in my area?" to very specific kinds such as "Instruction for running their own business". Nevertheless parents’ advice may be more accurate and helpful for their offspring, no one can compete to those ever-running search engines in internet. For instance, a person in his/her 18 years of age can easily find his/her concerns' solution about his/her future life by just couple of clicks instead of looking for his/her responses in his/her parents advice. People now are more compatible of making decisions by internet comparing to past.

Similarly, Economic opportunities, these days help people in several ways to deciding for their own life separately. For example, wide range of rent prices for housing, different types of expenses for cars will help juvenile in their ways to make their decisions more independently. That is to say, some teenagers may admit their parents’ advice for their future life style compulsively. Some parents may make their children to listen and employ what they want them to do without considering their youngsters’ taste or decision. Nowadays, one can easily find a reasonable car price or a cheap studio to share with a roommate in order to overlook his/her parent forcing demands and illogical abuse. In past, people were troubled with not having such opportunities. Thus people were more reliable on parents in case of making even their personal decisions.

Last but not least, vast connection between people is an undeniable fact. They are better prone to brilliant mindsets. They are apt to well organized and rational ideas of running life more than ever before. By having ample connection in social life basis such as our friends, our instructors in school and so forth, we are now able to decide pursue whoever we like advice. In that way, not only our parents cannot dictate us, but we are more inclined to revise our decision by different ideas and eventually decide what works the best for us.

In conclusion, we seem more independent individuals in comparison to our ancestors. Internet, wide range of financial chances and proliferation of connections among people are some factors which by no means can be ignored.