Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ jobs.

Job is of great importance for children's lives because they have to work for at least 20 years in the future and a good job may bring them fewer troubles as well as more happiness. So somebody claims that children's choosing jobs that are similar to their parents' jobs is advantageous while others disagree. In my opinion, children benefit a lot from choosing similar jobs for the following two reasons.

To begin with, children who follow their parents’ career are able to save their time. Facing some difficult problems while working, children are likely to get stuck in one particular perspective. But with parents’ orientation, it will become very easy for children to resolve the problems quickly, not wasting their precious time. For example, last summer vacation, when I was doing a project pertinent to pipeline of CPU for my internship at Virtualtech, I encountered a problem that I could not pass the test cases for "forwarding unit". I spent an hour and a half trying to figure it out by myself, but I failed. Then I turned to my father who also majors in computer science during his university time for help. After inspecting my code, he gave me a sketch, guiding me how to fix the problem. Fortunately, within forty minutes did I successfully tackle that bug. In contrast, my colleagues were not so lucky. They failed to solve the problem after a whole day's effort, and finally had to ask the advisors or me for help. By comparison, we can draw a conclusion that choosing similar jobs to their parents' help desist children from squandering time.

Additionally, choosing similar jobs strengthens the relationship between children and their parents. With more common knowledge, children have chances to share their working experiences with their parents. For instance, I still remembered that last summer, one day I talked with my father for about twenty minutes while eating dinner. I told him my involvement in the CPU development project and my thought of the progress so far. Since my father is a senior software developer, he had a unique insight into my circumstance, being able to extend the conversation further. On the contrary, suppose my father was a doctor, I would know that he could not understand my situation, so I would not choose to share my story. Gradually, I realized that as I started working, the number of conversations between my parents and I had increased sharply. As this kind of heart-to-heart conversation becomes a habit of us, our relationship is bound to be strengthened.

In a nutshell, children's choosing similar jobs is an excellent choice which not only makes it easy for children to save their time, but facilitates their communications with parents as well.