Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Thanks to the invention of the Internet, people are connected together and able to learn global news immediately. When it comes to the controversial problem whether to learn news happened around the world or not, people hold different opinions. Some people advocate it is important to know about events happening in other countries. Others dispute that news has no effect on their daily life. Personally, I believe that it is crucial to know about evens happening around the world based on the following reasons.

First, knowing events in other countries help a person to interact and communicate with foreigners more smoothly, especially for those work with foreigners. Have you ever got a chance to talk to a foreigner but your brain was totally blank? The news in the foreigner's country becomes great materials. In addition, it makes people be respected to you because you are interested in their culture and country which leads to more possibility between you two such as business. Take my father for example, he went on a business trip to Mexico for 3 months. Before he went there, he brought a lot of cargoes to Mexico, because he knew the tragic earthquake just killed thousands of Mexican and hundreds of building collapsed. When he gave those cargoes to the homeless because of the earthquake, this kind and generous behavior help him get the dealership to sell shoes. So, according to my father's example, are you still saying it is unrelated to your life? Well, I don't think so. Instead, it may be important to your career more than you think.

Second, learning news around the world enlarges our view. We can learn history and cultures from other countries. Moreover, the experience from other countries may help the development of our community. For example, China used to be a conservative country. Chinese are not allowed to say bad things about their government. Because of the Internet, they learn democracy from other countries by watching the voting news in a liberal country such as the United State. According to a research, despite the teenagers in China cannot vote in their country, they learn how the democracy works and vote the global issue on the Internet.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I think it is essential and beneficial for a person to know about events happening around the world.