Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Some people think that keeping old friends is more important than finding new ones. While, another group believe that building more and more new friends is better for them. In my opinion, to retain your relationship with your old friends as strong as possible is the best option for you. This is due to the difficult process of making new friends, the possibility of counting on old friends in hard situations.

First, it takes time for one to make a strong relationship with new friends. In the other word, you need to spend a lot of time with your new friends to find out their characteristics and decide whether he/she is a trustable person to continue a friendship with or not. While, this process has been passed when you are taking about old friends. For instance, when got accepted and went to the new university, my best friend in high school was also with me. In that time, I had tried a lot to make a new friendship with some people, but, the majority of my effort failed one after one and after a while, I notified that I did not have a lot in common with new friends. Therefore, I filled that keeping old friends is more important.

Second, you can count on your old friends in every circumstances. Your old friends are somehow like your family and your family never leave you alone. Put differently, you are always their first priority. For instance, when I joined my company, I made some new friends. After a while, I got a difficult illness and could not go to work for a while. As a consequence, I faced with some problems and company did not paid my salary for two month. Not only non of my new friends did not accept to do some of my postponed tasks, but also they did not borrow me money when I asked them. Consequently, as always, my old friends help me to go back to the life in that awful situation.

According to the above statements, I believe that retaining new friends is a better Idea than making new ones. This is because of you do not need to put your energy and time for finding new trustable person, In addition, you are always the first priority of your old friend.