Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

GENIUS IS MORE RELIABLE THAN KNOWLEDGE

As understanding the concepts and ideas helps students to use these concepts in their daily life, it is more important for the students to focus on these concepts rather than just learning the facts.

Firstly, by understanding concepts more deeply, students can actually apply them in solving the new problems they encounter. A thorough understanding all concepts is crucial for the students who can be future scientists, engineers and should contribute to effective innovations. It is obvious that they face new emerging problems in the future, to resolve these new problems, they should come up with creative, novel and reliable solutions which is possible only if they imbibe concepts not just by learning already known facts.

Moreover, in the changing world the problems too change with course of time. To exemplify, global warming, green -house effect was never a problem before these were entailed due to automobiles, industries etc. So, by just knowing facts, specific problems and their solutions the world cannot protected always.

Secondly, to enhance their intuition and conscience understanding and critical thinking of concepts is important. Because the learnt facts are available in internet as information. So, students can rely on computers to know facts when required. But, what a machine can’t do is to infer to a solution using these known facts. So, it’s important for the students to enhance their skill of arriving at a logical and reliable solutions and understanding concepts plays a vital role here.

So, mere learning facts helps students in solving some problems. They can always succeed by understanding the concepts and developing ideas.