Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who just focus on only one skill

When it comes to evaluate the effects of having various skills on being successful, many people claim that being expert will certainly make one successful, while others take the opposite view. However, I to a great extent agree with the idea the those who have different skills are more successful than those specialized in one field. In this essay I explain why I feel this way, using reasons and examples.

To begin with, knowing numerous skills exposes one to more and better opportunities. There is no doubt the more skills one have the more jobs he or she can undertake, hence by being skillful in different majors one can apply for many job positions and also it is more likely to get hired. Also, it is worth to be mentioned that the more one knows the wiser he is. An excellent example is my brother, he has a bachelor in economic and a master in finance. Moreover, he has several certificates in different managerial fields including negotiation skills, leadership, organizational behavior, and human resources. This vast set of skills coupled with his master and bachelor degrees let him to apply for high salary jobs mainly CEO-Chief Executive Officer- and CFO-Chief Financial Officer. Now he works as a CEO in a giant tech company and his total salary is more than a half million dollars. My brother`s story clearly explains how having various skills is helpful to get a good job.

Moreover, given that nowadays job seekers have all prerequisites mentioned in job description, only those who can extinguish themselves can get hired. As far as I can see job openings are very few and so competitive that only those who have different skills can get in. Another key factor that should be taken into consideration is the effects of high number of layoffs caused by economic stagnation. My uncle is hiring manager of a big health care company. Once he was saying to my father that his company fired more than a hundred of incompetent employees and the company compensated this shortage by hiring thirty new ones that have various skills, so that the thirty skilled workers can accomplish the same work done a hundred ordinary workers All in all, companies are looking for applicants with different skills.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that advantageous of having various skills weighs against advantageous of being expert in a specific field, because having more skills equals to having more opportunities and also companies wants applicants with wide range of skills.