Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Computer games have improved a lot over time. Present computer games are very elaborate and mimic real life to very close extent. The prompt states that playing computer games is a waste of time and children should not be allowed to play them. I partially agree with this statement for two reasons.

First, computer games are very addictive and can affect the health of anyone, especially children, if played for a long time. For instance, my nephew has been exposed to computer games from a very young age. As he grew up, he completely ignore outdoor games or any exercises. This deteriorated his health a lot. It decreased his appetite and long exposure to screens affected his eyes. If the children are restricted to reduce the time spend on computer games and used it in any other outdoor activity, it would help their growing body a lot. It would enhance body mind interaction and instill a sense of confidence in them.

Second, computer games tend to be very addictive and makes anyone, especially children uninterested in outside world. They exaggerate everything and brings about a sense of false accomplishment which would eventually make them unable to differentiate truth from lies. For instance, most of the popular games today have a lengthy story-line. They reward the players regularly as they totally get absorbed in it. As the story progresses, difficulty increases and making it more addictive. In this process players tend to get a false satisfaction and forget the activities in their real world. If it continues for a long time, the children might miss the other activities with real people. This generally leads to decreased confidence to face the society in future. Hence it is of great importance for the parents to restrict children from playing computer games and spend some time with their friends outside.

People might argue that computer games is a form of entertainment and also many multiplayer games helps in communicating with a lot of new people. It also brings friends closer. However, there is always a limit on how much time children can actually spend without getting addicted. Computer games, when played in limit, is good form of entertainment. But can easily turn into a addiction. So, children should not be allowed to play them.