Do you agree or disagree with the following statements? Because people are busy doing so many different things, they do very few things well. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of the society, a considerable number of people are found to live a busy life and have to multitask more frequently. In light of this situation, some people put forward the argument that people could do very few things well since they are busy doing many different things. However, I disagree with this proposition for the following reasons.

Initially, technologies make it possible for us to do many different things well. To be specific, technologies have saved us a lot of time and energy and provide us with the potential to accomplish more different things well. My sister Fiona’s experience could well be used to attest to this argument. Last year, Fiona had to prepare for the TOEFL test on top of her regular coursework at school. It was time consuming to take off-line TOEFL tutorial lessons because of the traffic congestion, so Fiona chose to study with a teacher online for one hour each day. The online teacher graduated from Harvard University with rich teaching experience, and they had smooth communication using the instant messaging application, Wechat. As a result, Fiona learned very efficiently and passed the TOEFL test with a high grade of 117 while getting As in most of her tests at school. Without the technology, Fiona could not have had access to such good education resources and handled so many different tasks in an efficient way. Thus, I am convinced that though people are busy doing so many different things, they can do many things well.

Moreover, people’s improving ability to plan and organize enables them to do many things well. Most people nowadays are equipped with the ability to plan and organize, so theycan manage their time effectively and accomplish many tasks well. For instance, my roommate, Laura, made a detailed plan for her university life even before her freshman year began, including how long to spend studying every day, what courses to take, what extracurricular activities to participate in, and when to take the GRE test. Over the course of her undergraduate study, she strictly followed her plan and studied her major English with high focus, while learning Japanese as a minor and participating in a two-year volunteer teaching program. Despite the busy schedule she had, she received a final GPA of 3.87 out of 4.0. As a result, she was admitted to the graduate school of Brown University with a teaching assistantship last month. Therefore, I believe that though people are busy doing so many different things, they can do many things well.

Admittedly, opponents argue that multitasking will result in the overconsumption of energy and lead to poor performances. However, with the help of technology, we are able to save a lot of energy, so working on many tasks at the same time with satisfying outcomes becomes possible. Hence, I tend to believe that people can do many things well though they are busy doing so many different things.

In a nutshell, based on the discussions above, I can safely draw the conclusion that people can do many things well though they are busy doing so many different things.