Do you agree or disagree with the following statement

sometimes people think nowadays the media TV newspaper internet is less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problems to the public.

I tend to disagree with the statement that the media is less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, whereas I tend to agree with the statement that false news may cause more problems to the readers.

As for the first statement, I would say that the media has always cared immensely about the accuracy of news, whether in the past or now. The reason is explicit and intuitive: considering the fact the arena of media is all about gaining people’s trust and attention, whether a media company is successful or not depends heavily on the accuracy of its news. For example, I used to subscribe to a magazine floated with exciting news, such as news about a celeblity betraying her husband; however, when I began to realize that most of the information was false, I lost interest in the magazine and cancelled my subscription immediately.

Furthermore, thanks to the internet, information has never been so accessible, handy, and abundant as it is. Any person equipped with a basic smartphone or laptop can easily verify the accuracy of news on his or her own (much like what I did). Therefore, I would say that the media today is more attentive to the correctness of their claims than ever.

Regarding the second statement, I would say that false information has harmful, or even disastrous effects on the readers. Every decision is based on our understanding of the world and events surrounding us, and with decisions, we perform actions that will influence our lives positively or negatively. Hence, if we are given inaccurate information and, accordingly, develop inaccurate perceptions about the situation, we may not act in the best possible way. Take the example of my cousin, who learned from the radio that a tsunami was about to hit the place where he lived. He freezingly went home, packaged his essentials, and told his relatives to do the same. Then, when the tsunami did not take place, he was ridiculed and gained infamy.

All in all, I would conclude that while false news influence people negatively, the media is now more concerned than in the past about the correctness of their coverage.