Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I tend to agree with the statement that advertising aimed at young children should not be allowed.

First, this action is innapropriate on moral grounds. Think about the nature of advertising: to convince, or, to put it more bluntly, to manipulate, people’s beliefs and behaviors. When advertising is toward an adult who has been educated and informed, its impacts are less devastating and disturbing. However, when advertising is directed toward a child aged two to five, who possesses almost no critical thinking skills, its effects are immediate, undesirable, and disastrous. Take the example of my little cousin, who had actually eight years when she saw in the television a prohibitive medicine claiming that it would heighten the users’ heights (she was the shortest among her classmates). If it had been for my aunt, she actually would have ordered the item without hesitation. Then who could have immagined the side-effects of the medicine? Advertising toward children is not only immoral but also irresponsable.

Second, this deed would influence children negatively. If you were to ask a random person what phrase is most important for a person, he or she would probably say :“When you are young.” Indeed, the informative years are possibly the most important years for any person considering the fact that most perceptions that people have were formed during these years. Yet if we allowed children who are just developing fundamental conceptions about the world to be spoiled by advertising, what would happen to these children? Their values would be distorted, their perceptions would be erratic, and their future would be compromised.

Now, some might argue that by allowing children to be influenced by advertising, we actually give them the possibility to satisfy their nature needs. However, it is inappropriate to conclude that children really know what they want if they are not armed with the necessary thinking skills. Thus, such a view is misleading at best.

In sum, we should not allow advertising to be directed at children aged two to five.