Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Even though there is a widely held thought that students are more affected by their teachers, I subscribe to the view that friends are the real influencers in the child's life. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First, youngsters usually spend their major time with their friends and not with their teachers. Spending a lot of time with someone will directly affect your behaviors. And as a result of that youngster will completely absorb his/her friend's manners. For instance, when my brother was in high school he had learned smoking habits from his close friend who used to spend many hours per day with him. All in all, students tend to spend many hours with their friends and this particular behavior is the main reason for the tendency of the students to be affected by their close friends more than by their teachers.

Second, youngsters always are more likely to be influenced by individuals from their age slice. According to educational psychology, people at a young age are more amenable by their friends who are in the same age as them than older individuals. Even though young people are seemed to be iconoclastic and unruly, they always docile to the people of the same age. Many psychologists have revealed that young people from the same age group usually have common issues and interested, this point empirically makes close friends are the most crucial behavior teaching source. My personal experience is a compelling example of this when I was in middle school I have met my best friend Bayan who was in the same age as me. She encouraged me to read more about science especially the chemistry field and the result was the chemistry has become my passion until this moment. So, the second reason for being friends the main influencer in a student's life is the near age issue which is not available in the teacher's case.

All in all, Friends especially close friends play a pivotal role in the formation process of the personality of youngsters because they spend a lot of time with their friends