Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students do not respect teachers as much as they did in the past.

Since the creation of man, teachers have been among the most respectful people of each society. Today, most people wonder whether teachers received more respects from their students in the past or not. In my opinion, students respected teachers more in the past because teachers were the most educated persons in every society. Moreover, nowadays, thanks to the developed technology a lot of sources are available for people that allow them to access the information without the helping of teachers. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, in the past, teachers were the most educated people in each society; thus, they played an important role in their nation. Indeed, not only they were a teacher but also they had other responsibilities like being a priest or a doctor, etc. As a result, everybody in society, include students, respected them. For example, once, my grandfather told me that when he was 9, they had a teacher at school who was a doctor too. Therefore, sick people went to him and asked him to examine them. In most cases, he could cure them with his good diagnosis. As a result, he was so important person for all of them and everybody appreciated him. Whereas, today, there are a lot of educated people in each community who are expert in a specific field such as a doctor, engineer, etc. Therefore, it is reasonable that teachers are not as important as before, because they don’t have several responsibilities like before.

Second, today, due to the developed technology, people can access all kinds of information easily through a simple search in lots of references that are available for them freely. On the contrary, most people in the past were illiterate; thus, they didn’t have any other option except referring to teachers. So, this need to find their answers forced them to respect teachers more. As an example, Once, when I was a student at university, working full-time in a small factory, I couldn’t attend the classes. Hence, I decided to take some self-study courses. Therefore, I downloaded the required references through the internet and read them personally. Actually, it was very easy for me because I had a variety of references answering whatever I need. Consequently, at the end of the semester, I passed all of my courses with good scores. Hence, although teachers are still one of the most essential parts of each educational system, today, students could learn whatever they want through a variety of available sources without helping a teacher.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that people, especially students, respected teachers more in the past.