Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Undoubtedly, Teachers are one of the most important underlying contributors to cultural development of societies. Although, whether this view has been the prevailing attitude of people in the past as well as the present is called into question recently. In this context there are contrasting views. While some people hold the opinion that communities honored teachers more in the past than the present, others plainly contradict this claim and assert that nowadays teachers are more valued by societies. Personally speaking, I am more inclined to the latter and in what follows, I delve into reasons to substantiate my standpoint.

First thing to mention is that, teachers applied physical punishments to discipline students in the past, as a result, people did not develope intimate feelings toward them. Parents become angry when they observed that their innocsent children were bruised because of aggressive behavior of teachers. they held a grudge against them and usually did not act friendly when it happened to see them in city. A good example of this is the attitude of society toward tutors when my father went in school. Once he related to me that his teacher was of bad reputation in the town, because he constantly tormented children for not being attentive in classroom. as a result, my grandfather and other parents whose children were taught by the same teacher did not behave respectfully to him whenever they encountered him in the city.

Moreover, despite the past, communities are now more informed of advantages that being literate can bring to individuals as well as society, so they hold respect for instructors and appreciate their endeavors to educate the young generation more than in the past. Parents understand that teachers earnestly concentrate their attempts to nurture a learned young generation who are capable of finding a suitable career in the future and assisting their society by putting their knowledge in its service. Although, people were not much sharp minded in the past to grasp this, specially in less developed countries like one in which I live. They deemed school as an unholy western culture introduced to separate children from their families. Consequently, teachers who worked in such institutes were not welcomed in that conservative and traditional society.

To sum up, I strongly believe that teachers are now more appreciated by the community than in the past. This is because, they previously disciplined students using aggressive physical punishments and such behavior was not well received by the society, and because their critical role in raising a sage young generation benefiting both itself and the society are thoroughly understood by people.