Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although some people suggest that teachers receive more appreciation since they are responsible for educaing people in the highly competitive society nowadays, I firmly reckon that teachers were more appreciated and valued in the past. Detailed reasons will be illustrated in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, people in the past treasured and praised the importance of respecting senior people including teachers; therefore, teachers in the past were appreciated more than they are nowadays. For instance, when my parents once compare how they educated me and how their parents educated them, they suggested that grandfather told them to respect the old and teachers. However, they said that this kind of value is hardly important at all nowadays. In other words, students and teachers should have equal status.

Secondly, there are an increasingly amount of educational resources available online for free, which means teachers are not the only channel to get educated in modern times. Teachers are not as important as before, and so they receive less appreciation nowadays. A simple illustration for this is open course wares. Many institutes, such as MIT, Stanford and UC Bekerly, publish thier class recordings and lecture notes to the Internet nowadays. Therefore, students including I nowadays frequently utilize these resources more and even claim that the resources online is better than their original teachers. As a consequence, teachers are less appreciated today.

Last but not least, with the advent of technology, many teachers cannot afford an up-to-date educational materials and a high-quality teaching, which makes them being less valued day. Traditionally, teachers usually speciallized in certain subjects and focused on teaching students how to acquire high scores in exams. By contrast, nowadays teachers are required to offer more comprensive teaching and materials, such as leadership and career path planning, to make students competitive in the society. This tough requirement makes teachers burnt-out and they usually cannot provide such materials students need. As a result, since they cannot achieve what the student needs, teachers are less valued in the modern society.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned reasons, I strongly agree with the idea that teachers were appreciated and valued in the past than they are nowadays.