Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Since the dawn of the humanity, the human beings have been engaged in a great struggle to pave the way of approaching to a high level of knowledge, which has been reached via thoughtful teachers who have always been sacrificed to do so. In today's world, yet, there is a heated controversy as to examine whether teachers are more acclaimed than before or not. Although Some people are of the opinion that there is not any social value for the teachers anymore, some other believe the otherwise. I, personally, subscribe to the ideas which states although teachers in the past had a great social value, they are not valued by other citizens anymore for a couple of reasons, which two of them are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first evidence which reveals the aforementioned idea is the low wages which the teachers are given nowadays. Every year statistics have illustrated that one of the lowest average salaries among different vocations is given to the teachers. Yet, their job is not only a hard kind of occupation, but many of them do not have a flexible work time to handle. Take, for instance, a teacher who should be available at the school at seven o clock to prepare the teaching materials before student’s entrance, while most of the other people arrive at their workplace at least at eight o clock. Moreover, this teacher might be at school full time, there is not any coffee time, and even he or she might be available on the weekends to do school-related jobs such as preparing exam materials or answering parent questions. Albeit, there are many other hard jabs without a flexible work time, but of course, teaching is not an easy job to handle and so one might question why there should be the lowest salary for the teachers?

In addition, nowadays most of the schools are private ones which means the parents who have paid lots of money for their children studies, expect for their teachers to be perfect. It does not simply mean that the teachers are becoming more professional. If we look in-depth we will figure out that it is such an inevitable fact of the schools that most of the teachers are not really perfect. As a case in point, a considerable parent who is facing some blemishes in one of his or her child's teacher, of course, won't be satisfied till finding a really professional teacher for her or his child, who might never be available at the school. It might lead to a disappointment in the parents and as a repercussion, most of the teacher will lose their value among the parents who are a main part of the society.

To make a long story short, in today's hectic lifestyle of the human beings, not only have been inclined the teacher's value but they are undermined most of the time. There is sufficient evidence which supports this idea, to name but two, the low salary of the teachers, and, the parent's high expectation of the teacher especially at private schools, are the most considerable ones.