Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

By looking at the history of people’s friendship, it is understandable that failure comes from how people make a group of friend and the number of group member. I emphatically believe that we should make a small group and hold it for long time when it comes to friendship in order to maintain happiness. I have at least three reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First, having a limited number of member in our friend’s group is beneficial in this way that we can scrutinize all individuals comfortable which brings us happiness. To elaborate, determining member’s character and trait through thin and thick is away to find a trustable person and understand authenticity of a companionship which is available with maintaining a small group over long-time. A research conducted by a famous university in psychology admitted that a long-lasting relationship stems from small number of members that in turn result in gratitude and joyfulness. As an explicit example is my cycle of friendship with three close friends. Once, we made a decision to elongate this cycle by adding new friends. The result was not mouthful and made our relationship weakening because new members was not trustworthy and sowed seed of discontent and dissatisfaction in our group. Accordance to that tough experience, we came up with a fact that we should stay in our basic structure of our friendship and never let a new person to run into our group.

Second, in a small group, managing group is easy, and establishing a law to follow for all members based on voting and consulting is available which gains us gladness and comfort. Furthermore, making conformity in a community in which there is a few members is easier than a new large group. Researches have shown that all small group have been able to make an adorable contract in a long run studying. As I mentioned in the last paragraph, as we enhanced the number of our friends in the group, we could not make a permanent decision, so that we started to build a rule to cultivate somewhat peaceful in the group’s atmosphere. The thing happened was a deficit of consensus to make a commitment owe to present new persons in the group. Thanks to turn our decision out in order to make large community, we could find our happiness and calmness again.

In conclusion, building a friendship in a small group and keep it in a long run is beneficial and along with gladness. Not only can we examine genuineness of our members, but also are we able to make a rule with which all member have agreement.