Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With no doubt, friends inrich our lives and make us live in a happier life. However, when it comes to the controversial question whether to maintain friendships with few people over a long time or to make as many friends as possible, people hold diffent opinions. Personaly, I think the ability to make many new friends easily is more important for an individual's long term happiness. I feel this way based on my own experience.

Firstly, a man who can eaisly make new friends is open-minded and willing to accept diverse view of points. Therefore, he will have more opportunities to learn from other's experiences and succeed. Take my friend Rax for example, he loves to travel around and makes new friends. When he went on a working holiday project in the U.S.. He had a chance to work with people from different coutries. During that project he learned how to negociate and collaborate with others. Thanks to the experience, he finds an internship in Google. Google is a big company and thinks the ability to work with team memebers is essential.

Second, a man with the ability to make new friends easily is prone to find resource efficiently. Since he knows people from different fields, he always can find some experts and ask for help. Again take Rax for example, when I was struggling to find a professor to write an recommandation letter for me to apply for graduated school, he has already got three letters from intelligent scholars.

Some people may argue that new friends are silver ,while old friends are gold. I disagree with this statement. It is not like to forget old friends when making new friends.

In conclusion, by the reasons that I just mention, there is no doubt that having the ability to make new friends easily is more important for happiness.