Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

With no doubt, friends enrich our lives and make us live in a happier life. However, when it comes to the controversial question whether to maintain friendships with few people over a long time or to make as many friends as possible, people hold different opinions. Personally, I think the ability to make many new friends easily is more important for an individual's long-term happiness. I feel this way based on my own experience.

Firstly, a man who can easily make new friends is open-minded and willing to accept the diverse points of view. Therefore, he will have more opportunities to learn from other's experiences and succeed. Take my friend Rax, for example, he loves to travel around and makes new friends. When he went on a working holiday project in the U.S. He had a chance to work with people from different countries. During that project, he learned how to negotiate and collaborate with others. Thanks to the experience, he finds an internship in Google. Google is a big company and thinks the ability to work with team members is essential.

Second, a man with the ability to make new friends easily is prone to find resource efficiently. Since he knows people from different fields, he always can find some experts and ask for help. Again take Rax for example, when I was struggling to find a professor to write a recommendation letter for me to apply for graduate school, he has already got three letters from intelligent scholars.

Some people may argue that new friends are silver, while old friends are gold. I disagree with this statement. It is not like to forget old friends when making new friends.

In conclusion, by the reasons that I just mention, there is no doubt that having the ability to make new friends easily is more important for happiness.