Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and example.

There is no doubt that friendship plays an important role in people's life, since people usually are influenced by friends rather than families. Some people claims that the ability to preserve friendships for a long time is very crucial for happiness than the capability of making easily new friends. I hold a positive view for a couple of reasons described in the following.

Firstly, people easily can rely on long-time friendship and give help from their friends in various situations such as financial or family problems. The statistics in Iran show that youth easily emotionally connect with their friends than family and consult with them instead of their families. Therefore, a ling-time friend can solve people's problem rather than a new friend. Since an old friend is completely familiar with the characteristic and the personality of his friend and positively direct her friend for an appropriate decision. For example, I clearly recall that I could not decide for major at the university and my best friend hopefully helped me to choose an appropriate major, because he deeply had knowledge about my interests.

Secondly, old friends are similar the family and people can emotionally connect with their friends. an old friends similar the family support her/his friend and in the dangerous situation efficiency manage her/his friends. The Statistic in Iran show that the young people are threatened by new friends to do some delinquencies such as drug abuse. In similar situation, an old friend like the family preserve her/his friend in hazardous situations.

Eventually, people have pleasure time with their old friends more than new friend. Since this friendship has been built based on their common interests and personality. Therefore, they can extremely enjoy doing such recreational activities. For example, I and my old friend spend a lot of time together and for long hours talk about our common interests such as our favorite movies or sports.

To conclude, for aforementioned reasons I strongly believe that a long-time friendship is of higher importance than easily creating friendship.