The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article in a business magazines advises to hire people who sleep less than 6 hours per night, because it will lead to thriving business. Although, he provides a study carries out recently as a strong evidence of his reccomendation, the provided part of the article is full of logical flaws.

Firs of all, the organization of the study is unclear. Since 300 workes of Mentian were taken to study, we cannot be sure that this number is enough to provide accurate results. The sample can be not enough if the company is too large as well as we do not know how these people were chosen. If it was not a random choise, then the results do not show the full picture of the situuation.

Moreover, we cannot rely on the experience of Mentain as a great example. For example, this company can thrive and has a good profit because of other reasons as a good quality of products, the market demand or the lack of competitors. Thus, if other business companies want to be successful too, they should prpbably find problems they have.

Also, it is unclear how the sleeping time is associated with fast growing. Maybe, those people are better margins, because they are hard-working, well-educated and high-motivated people, while those who sleep mpore than 6 hours are freshmen, and do not have enough work experience.

To sum up, based on the arguments provided in the essay, we cannot be sure that people whose sleep time is less than 6 hours will lead to the benefits of business.