Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The government is not doing enough work to educate people the importance of nutrition and healthy eating.

It is critically important for people to have a balanced diet since people’s health is determined by what they eat. Some argue that the government does less work than expected to make citizens aware of the importance of foods. I think this idea doesn’t make any sense.

First of all, the government has been teaching students in school how to eat healthily, which helps them keep a good habit when they grow up. What people learn when they are young has a huge impact on their further behavior. At the same time, their outlooks and thinkings are formed. Accordingly, educating young children is an effective way to help individuals eat healthy foods. For instance, when I was in primary school, there was a class in which our teacher taught us what food contains and what people need to eat every day. I noticed most of my classmates listened carefully and took notes. Some of them sometimes shared what they learned with their parents. When we graduated, I clearly remembered one boy who had been really fat became much slimmer, and he told us he had changed his eating habits due to that helpful class.

Secondly, the government make strict laws and supervise food supplies and restaurants, which guarantee city dwellers can eat healthy foods. People tend to eat fast food nowadays in order to save time. There are increasingly more restaurants and food shops are opened. With effective restriction, the foods are assured to be fresh and clean, so people are less likely to get sick. About five years ago, there was a fried chicken restaurant in our community. When I once left home for school, I went there and bought some chicken. However, that afternoon, I had a stomachache and a fever. I realized it had to be caused by the chicken that I ate. When I was recovered, I went to the community office and complained about what had happened, asking them to check that restaurant. Just two days later, the restaurant was closed according to the laws about food security.

In conclusion, the government makes efforts to teach students about food and human need and makes related laws to create a good environment where people can eat healthy foods. Given these facts, I firmly believe the government has done a lot to let people realize it is essential to keep a balanced diet.