Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People could be happier when they are freely choose what they do without any external restriction. Within this understanding, I believe that it is too strict to expect that young people obey all the rules given by societies such as going to university and getting married in due time. This is because young people can be happy when they do things what they want and when they do without outside pressures.

First of all, one can enjoy their lives when they are able to do what they want. If one is forced to do things only by rules, then he will live his life without happiness. For instance, a friend of mine went to the university only because his parents wanted it, even though he wanted to be a soccer player from his childhood. He tried to adjust himself to the academic environment, but he was very depressed since he had to study all day even though he wanted to play soccer. Then he watched a lot of youtube videos regarding soccer games, which made his grades very poor. From this example I thought that letting people do what they aspire is highly important quality of a good society.

Moreover, even though behaviors compelled by rules are preferred things for someone, there is enormous difference between doing things that obliged and doing things that freely chosen. To illustrate, reports have it that 70% of children who are not willing to do their homework say that they would like to do it if there is no punishment from teachers. They feel that the punishments from their instructors make them hate the assignments given in class, even though the subjects are the ones that they are interested. In this regard, I think that too strict rules make people feel bad about their situations, making things worse.