• Do you agree or disagree?

• If parent want their children to do well at school, they should limit the time their children spend on TV.

In this hectic world which there are lots of distracting things, being concentrate is getting harder and harder and when it comes to children it become more difficult. Nowadays parents are worry about their children education and TV’s bad effect on it. Some of them limit the TV time for their child. The question which arises here is should they limit TV time for children if they want their child doing their best at school? Well, as far as I’m concerned I don’t agree with that. In what follows I will explain my reasons.

The first aspect to point out is that limiting children and ordering them what to do, will raise them passive and will take their freedom to think and choose. Furthermore, it can reduce their responsibilities. They grow up as and dependent person. The more you tell children what to do or not, the more they lose their self esteem. It can has a worse effect on their marks at school. It would be better if you make them to understand the situation and choose their study time and free time and learn them how to manage it. In this way not only have you helped your child to organize time, but also you gave him right to choose.

Another point that comes to mind is there’s no evidence that limiting TV time for children will definitely lead to better scores at school. There’s no relation proved between these two. Many people might think for sure it will be better to keep children away from TV. But when it comes to children it would be different one by one. For example, back to school, I watched all the shows I wanted and still got better marks than some of my classmates that didn’t watch TV back then. Watching TV may be a good hobby for free time for many students and make them ready for doing homework. Also there are lots of channels with educational content including showing experiments or making crafts that can be beneficial for students. It can even be helpful for progress in courses at school. So it would be better to limit the programs s/he watches in order to making a progress in their education.

All in all, I think limiting the time children spend on TV wouldn’t necessarily lead to better marks at school. This behavior can reduce child’s self esteem and takes his freedom. Also there isn’t any study conducted to prove that, it can be beneficial for some students.