do you agree or disagree that it is mire important for students to learn about facts or understand ideas and concepts

Arguments about the material that students are obliged to learn during school time are so controversial. What they learn in schools are so crucial for them because these material determine their future lifestyle, goals, achievement and…. However, some people believes that students have to learn facts instead of understanding the ideas and concepts. Personally, I support this idea that it’s more important to learn facts than ideas by giving a couple of logical reasons.

First of all, as it’s obvious through its name, facts are always true. These are proved and every one accept them and no one can readily disapprove them and cast doubt on their authority. ON the contrary, concepts and ideas are personally approved and their not as valid as fact, Hence, they are not thoroughly reliable and their validity can be easily questioned and refused. For example, based on the contemporary art courses that I have passed, I have learned that through the history of architecture, many architects have providing different ideas and concepts that sometimes they were in complete contrast it each other. Some people believed them and some rose against them and finally most of them were eliminated after a while. So why they couldn’t survive at least for centuries? TO answer I should say that because they were not true or constant and they were just based on some personal believes. In contrast, the proved principles and rules like the functionalism are constant through time and no one can refutes them.

Secondly, facts are the foundation of our thoughts. in fact, if we want to have an idea or a concept we need some basic rules and material to base our ideas on it. These rules are, actually, proved facts. There for, if student want to be creative and provide new ideas they have to learn the basis, the facts, at first. Then, they can have plenty of creative ideas throughout these fact, just like branches of tree that are all based on a strong trunk. For instance, I would like to provide an example of designing a house in architecture to convince that the validity of my claims. In order to design a house, a designer have to be faithful to some principles in order not to break the rules of functionalism. The facts like enough space or light. There for, he can use these facts as the basis and then begin to have creative ideas and fascinating concepts based on them. As a result, it’s obvious that learning facts are primarily and prior to the ideas, and should be considered vital in education.

In sum, as I make it clear above, since facts are the constant in life and no one is able to change them, learning them is significant for students. Moreover, facts are prior to our creativity and our new ideas must be based on them.