Do you agree or disagree :people benefit more from traveling in their own country than in foreign countries

As the development of Economy and method of transportation, more and more people choose to travel during their breaks or holidays. Choosing the destination of the travel becomes a common question for people planning to travel. Someone may argue that traveling in his or her own country benefit them more because they believe that traveling within the border of their homeland will help them to be familiar of their own cultures and traditions. However, in my opinion, traveling abroad will be more beneficial to people, since it allows people to get exposures to other cultures and traveling abroad to an unfamiliar place will give travelers more excitement.

Firstly, travelers can get benefited when traveling abroad, where they get exposure of foreign cultures. As we all know that different countries have different traditions due to their geographical conditions and the significant events happened through their history. For example, Japanese are used to eat raw seafood because they on an island which is close to the ocean; Korean people typically celebrate Christmas instead of New Year because in the past, they closely interacted with western countries.

Furthermore, traveling abroad is beneficial to travels because it brings excitement to them. Staying at the same place all the time can be really boring for people. Even though they travel around their own country, they still meet people with similar language, similar preference for food, and similar traditions. Before I was 14, I got pretty bored at travelling, since whenever my parents brought me to a travel, we would either go to hike in cities around or visit museums about Chinese traditions, such as museums of ancient Chinese artwork and museums telling the history of China. Those museums are similar in China – the artwork looks similar to each other with only variation in color or background; the history I learned from visiting the museums were almost same to what I learned in class. However, my parents brought me to a trip to Japan on my 15th year-old birthday; and that birthday became the birthday I love the most. We went to traditional Japanese restaurants and had fresh seafood there. They bought me a suit of colorful traditional Japanese clothes and I still keep them in my room as treasure. Therefore, as my personal experience has proved, travelling in a country that people do not commonly live in can bring them excitement unparallel to any of their travelling experience in their country.

Admittedly, people may argue that traveling in their home country can help them to get familiar with and remember the history of their country, which is of great benefit to them. However, travelling abroad in other countries can actually grant them the opportunity to learn the interaction of their culture with foreign culture in the history. This world view is critical for people living in 21th century as well.

Therefore, as travelling abroad will help people learn about foreign culture, bring them excitement, and build their view of the world, I believe that people will get more benefitted from travelling in their own country.