Do you agree or disagree with the statement:

It it better to spend money on travelling and vacation than save money for the future.

We are under great pressure from our major occupation every day, no matter work or study. To keep a more fulfilled and interesting life, learning a new hobby seems an excellent way. Many prefer to learn to cook or craft, while, from my perspective, trying a new athletic challenge is obviously a more reasonable choice.

To start with, sports are conducive to humans physically. Thanks to the development of technology, modern people have adapted to this sedentary lifestyle, which is the major cause of many diseases like arteriosclerosis, obesity and diabetes. A physical hobby can make a difference effectively. For example, my friend Nancy used to spend hours on the Internet, addicted to computer games and surviving on junk food. She grew overweight and got diabetes at the age of 20. It was when she got the doctor’s diagnosis that she realized how serious her situation was and it was urgent to make a change. She cut off from the Internet completely and started to swim everyday. After half a year, her insulin dropped back to the normal level and she was able to lead a normal life. She decided to keep the habit of swimming and also tried many new and more intriguing hobbies like hip-hop dancing and mountain hiking. In this way she managed to keep her body in a healthy state.

In addition, sports are beneficial to the mental state of human beings. According to many studies, while working out, a hormone called endorphin is released, which helps relieve headaches and the tension that restricts blood vessels in the brains, leaving the person in a good mood. What’s more, those who exercise are more likely to get into shape and be more confident about themselves. My classmates Jay and Ray are two identical twin brothers who grew up in the same environment. Jay enjoys all kinds of sports like volleyball and baseball while Ray is a more introverted type who is always reading in his corner. Everyone can tell them apart instantly despite their resemblance from the outside. Jay has this signature smile on his face all the time, who is outgoing and always ready to help. Ray, on the other hand, never has eye contacts with others and tends to be quite sensitive and reserved. When there are big challenges like finals or tough assignments, the contrast is even more noticeable. Jay always takes initiatives, making preparations positively while Ray always melts down under great pressure.

Admittedly, cooking and making things by hand can offer many pleasure as well. It is great opportunities to bond with others when sharing homemade cupcakes. It is also quite rewarding to receive other’s compliment when presenting the outfit you manufactured. However, cooking and crafting cannot benefit the body and mind simultaneously like sports do, and as challenging tasks, they can exert more stress.

In a nutshell, among these three options, I would choose a new sport to enrich my life, for I can gain more from it, both physically and spiritually.