Do you agree or disagree with the statement? All university students should be

required to take history courses no matter what field they study in.

Nowadays, with the advent of globalization, more and more employers are seeking talented and extraordinary people to enhance their company's competitiveness and, thus, increase the market possessing rate. Therefore, many universities are planning to require students to take more compulsory basic courses , which can equip them more knowledge and secure them a promising future. However, when confronting the dilemma that whether all students should take the required history courses, everyone's answer varies. As far as I am concerned, I would like to disagree with the statement.

First and foremost, students should be authorized to choose courses they interested in instead of forcing them to take history courses. In addition, if students can take courses they are avid to, they must be willing to attend those classes, which is conducive to their future or career, and solidify their competitiveness. On the other hands, if students are forced to take history courses that they are not yearn to, for them, it is just a time-wasting behavior and even, they may do not want to appear in history classes. In other words, requiring students to take history courses may interfere students' academic performance since they do not have enough time to explore their own interesting and immerse in their specialty. As a result, it is appropriate for students to select courses they yearn to.

Further lending credence to my position is that not all students in university need to take history courses. That is to say, some students who major in archaeology may required to take history classes because those students must be familiar with the sequence of history. Also, knowing the history can assist them to conduct their papers or researches that abound in every events happened in the past. On the other hand, students in the accounting department also do not need to take history courses. Owing to the complexity of accounting, it is the priority for students who major in accounting to study and make efforts to obtain the certifications about accountants. They already have plenty of assignments and presentations, therefore, they do not need to be required to take history courses. Hence, the history courses should be required to take by students that depend on their field of study.

Admittedly, it is universally acknowledged that understanding history can make students foster their ability to learn experiences from the past. There were abundant events or stories that imply meaningful values worth to learn from the past. Students can improve their values of facing this complex world. However, not all university students should be demanded to take history courses since they have disparate interesting and requirements in their respective departments.

In summary, although history can teach students how to react to what take place in this world, it it not a prerequisite for students to take history courses since for accounting students, history is not helpful for their future.