Do you agree or disagree with the statement:

People often buy products not because they really need them but because other people have them.

Nowadays, our society has witnessed the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, and more and more people are enabled to buy whatever they want. In this regard, some people believe that the determination of people's purchasing choice is the popularity of the stuff, that is, people buy it just because others have it. However, I hardly concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

Admittedly, some people maintain that keeping pace with others is a good idea since you will always possess what is prevailing and you can readily avoid some risky choices. It is conceivable that some goods that are bought by numerous people can be verified that they have better quality and can satisfy most people's needs. Following others' steps, you can avoid some risks with ease and have optimal things in the same field. Besides, it is also more convenient for us since we are granted the chance to save some time by following others, and making personal decisions will definitely cost us a lot of time and energy.

However, this belief is a little biased since in modern society more and more people are pursuing a way to show their personality by buying distinct things. People, especially youngsters who are raised in the 20th century, attach great importance to being outstanding, and they avoid any circumstances that make them mired in mediocrity. They like pop culture, and tailor-made stuff, ranging from clothes to shoes, that can represent their uniqueness. For example, many students in university prefer buying clothes made by brands that are outstanding but not popular among the masses. They believe these brands equip them with an atmosphere of uniqueness and can exhibit their characteristics thoroughly without being similar to others. They don't care about others’ viewpoints and harbor the idea that we should be confident to show ourselves.

In addition, sometimes people purchase goods that meet their emotional needs. Products are not only the things that facilitate the procedure of our daily routine but also some friends that help heal our emotional problems. To illustrate, some adults still buy toys that are designed for children, just because they can get a warm hug whenever they get tired after the whole day of working. Some people prefer buying tickets to places where there are few people because they just want to take a break from their daily life and avoid being enslaved by exhaustion. It is investigated that the choices of products are significantly associated with modern people's personal emotional needs. After buying something that can release their stress, people will recover from their mental hurts, though that thing is not possessed by most people.

In a nutshell, there are many reasons other than following other people's steps push people to make their buying decision. All people have the right to buy whatever they want, and they can label different products with their special meanings.