Do you agree or disagree with the statement People often buy products not because they really need them but because other people have them

As our world becomes more and more international and has more methods to produce products, there is a wide range of products for us to choose from. As far as I am concerned, the incentive for people to buy products is undoubtedly based on their real needs.

Firstly, physiological needs serve as a key driver for people to obtain the necessities. By that I mean, based on one of the most reputed psychological theories (i.e. the Hierarchy of Needs proposed by Maslow), we can clearly see that physiological needs (i.e. food, clothes, and shelter) and safety needs are the basic needs of a person. Usually, these needs energize people to purchase various kinds of necessities (i.e. rice, oil, and salt) to satisfy the fundamental demand. By doing so, people can keep themselves alive and live a normal life. Lack of these necessities, namely the bedrock of daily life, is likely to threaten people's survival, not to mention study and work. Therefore, the necessities play an integral role in people's daily life; whether others have them or not will not sway one's buying decisions.

Apart from physiological needs, psychological needs also contribute to the purchase of products, especially luxuries. Some may argue that consumers may buy things not because of their real needs but based on vanity and jealousy. However, there is a critical factor that goes unnoticed: certain luxurious products do fulfill the need of being recognized and accepted by others. Such psychological needs prove to be decisive in purchasing decisions. For instance, a lot of entrepreneurs will meet on formal occasions. Attending such important events, they choose to present positive images with the help of expensive clothes and designer handbags. In this process, expensive clothes are status symbols, enabling people to gain a sense of self-satisfaction and belonging. Overall, people’s purchase of such products can be justifiable.

In conclusion, it is my conviction that the reason why people buy products is undoubtedly based on their real demands.