Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In modern days, parents can learn more from their children than children can learn from their parents.

Nowadays, education keeps playing a pivotal role in not only society but also families. With the development of new technologies, especially the advanced media tech products and platforms on the Internet, some people reckon that children are more proficient in these fields, meanwhile, their parents are to some extent losing their ways in this modernization process. However, as far as I’m concerned, children can learn as much as their parents can learn from their children.

On the one hand, parents own lots of valuable life experiences that can still enlighten their children. Although new technology has been influencing society, some essential social structure has not changed, and these experiences also provide some insights for their children. For example, in the 1990s, programming is not prevalent in most countries and even the masses were not aware of it. The programmer was a new career at that time, even though the job is no longer rare nowadays. If the parent was one of the first-generation programmers at that moment, his/her experience about how to learn and start new fields will definitely encourage the children when they start a new career that has not been famous or even invented. Besides, it’s also parents’ responsibility to teach their children about attitudes and values, “good” and “evil”, “right” and “wrong”, etc. Such things will have an important impact on the development of children and cannot be easily learned by children on their own without parents’ guidance.

On the other hand, we have to admit it is easier for children to get accustomed to the development of society and technology, and there are a lot of platforms and applications for them to learn some advanced knowledge of which their parents cannot have good command. Also, take programming as an example. For many parents, they did not have opportunities to familiarize themselves with the basic programming languages when they were young, and they didn’t have enough time and energy to indulge in learning the related knowledge now. Their children whose compulsory subjects include programming now may help at this moment: children can help their parents to tackle the even simplest mistakes or problems with programming. Besides, the children can also inspire their parents, offering new ideas into their conventional viewpoints and sharing news from a new perspective, which also can help parents generate creative ideas and put them into practice during working.

In a nutshell, both children and their parents can learn from each other from different perspectives and dimensions. There is no need to hold a biased view toward this issue, underestimating the advantages of any part. Thus, I believe that combing the advantages of both parents and children can generate more excellent results, helping the education and development of society become better.