Do you agree or disagree? The way people dresses is a good indication of his or her personality or character?

What to dress today is a daily issue people meet everyday and clothes always have a place in the fashion field no matter how the times change. Recently, an interesting question related to clothes and personality arises. Whether people’s clothes reveal their personality or not? Facing to this question, it is highly possible that people hold different views. Although many people may believe that the way people dresses is a good indication of their character, from my perspective, I cannot disagree with this statement more.

First of all, a great many people dress similar in particular environments but they have different personalities. As we all know, students in most high schools and workers in some companies are required to wear uniforms during their routine study and work time. There is no difference in their dressing but we cannot say that there is no distinction in their characters as well. For instance, my sister Amy, who is a normal high school student always wears uniform in the school as well as others. She and her best friend Emma often study together and stay together. They wear school uniforms like twins but they definitely have different characters. My sister is quiet while Emma is active, and my sister likes classic music while Emma likes popular music. Also, sometimes they buy and wear similar clothes as sister wearing out of the school. Obviously, in those cases, having similar clothes does not mean having similar personality.

What’s more, a person dresses variously in different places and situations. In fact, the way that an individual dresses is not unchangeable. Does it mean his or her personality is ever-changing? I believe no! Take myself for example, whenever I go out with my co-workers, I try to dress a little formal. In contrast, whenever I stay with my friends, I wear causal clothes. Besides, the way I dress depends on not only people with whom I would be, but also different locations or activities. As an instance, I would never wear formal clothes when I want to go rock climbing. In a word, an individual dresses variously in different situations which makes revealing its personality absolutely impossible.

Based on statements above, I firmly disagree with the statement that the way an individual dresses indicates his or her personality because in many situations people wear uniforms or similar clothes yet they have different characters. Besides, the dress style of people keeps changing due to their certain reasons such as different people they would meet or different activities they would take part in. Instead of paying attention to the way a person dresses to know his or her personality, I would highly recommend keep an eye on their behavior which might be more efficient.