Do you agree with the statement that teachers have had more value in the past than today

There is a saying which states" stand up, and salute the teacher because a teacher is almost a profit" These words mean a lot to somebody who raised so many generations. However, nowadays , we don;t hear much about respect to teachers. In my opinion, teachers lost so much of their value and that is because of the reasons that I am going to address in my essay.

First, teachers nowadays are paid relatively less than in the past. A decent income would allow teachers to be valued and respected. In the past, teachers were one of the highest paid employees in the community. However, nowadays, teachers have more hardships, and sometimes they can barely pay their rent. For instance, two months ago, there was an article in 'San Francisco Chronicle" about a teachers who was unable to pay for rent in the city of San Francisco. The Mayer intervene to build more houses to encourage people to join this profession. Thus, improving the income of teachers would significantly improve their image in the community.

Moreover, teachers have less authorization to decide the faith of students whether to pass or fail. In the past teachers were granted full authority to evaluate students and make judgments about their destiny. However, nowadays more regulations are in place to withhold teachers from taking critical decisions solely on personal judgment. partly, because of a change in responsibilities. Therefore, they lost being stakeholders in the decision process.

Finally, technology has changed the way students are learning. In the past learners were attending classes and interacting more with teachers in classes. On the other hand, today, there are more online courses where students do not need to attend lectures physically. This new type of education lead to a decrease in the level of communication between students and the teachers. Surprisingly, students need no more to attend classes. As result, this new trend of teaching has devalued teachers as a corner-stone person in the educational process.

In conclusion, teachers are still being admired by their students, however, they lost some weight in the community. Partly, because of Technology which has changed the learning process, and the economic situation which hastily influenced teachers.