In some organisations, promotions are based on seniority, while in other organisations, promotions are based on performance.Discuss advantages of each position. Then indicate which position you think is best and why.

A controversial debate is often raised about employees entitled for promotion. Some groups of people may hold the view that organisation should promote employees based on performance. Others may hold a different view and feel that employees should promote employees based on seniority. From my vantage point, I concur with the latter groups of people for the reasons I address in the following essay.

The first exquisite reason to be mentioned is that senior employees who are not promote lose productivity. Promotion is a motive for employees to excel in their work and be more productive. However, if juniors were given a priority over seniors for promotion, then the seniors would lose their self esteem, lose trust, and the confidence in their abilities. Thus, the overall performance of the organisation would decline. A vivid example to illustrate my view point is the experience I had in previous organisation where the manager promoted newly hire employees instead of promoting the senior ones. Most employees were not satisfied with the management and the overall productivity of employees decline.

However, there are some other drawbacks of promoting employees based on performance and no on seniority. No one person including executives has all the answers, especially in today's complex environment, but one thing that everybody agrees on is that promoting juniors over seniors create internal conflict between employees. In other words such an act would create differences between team members as a result, they lose synergy and stop acting in a team spirit. This eventually lead to the failure of achieving the organisational goals.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind, they are by no means the only reasons available. In the fact there is another subtle reason available. The noteworthy, refreshing, intelligible results of a study published in the business week Journal which showed the organisations favoring promoting employees based on performance and not on seniority are more likely to fail. The result of the study was conducted on 120 organisations in different sectors to prevent any bias.

To wrap up, contemplating the aforementioned reason, one soon realizes that organizations promoting employees based on seniority are able to create a greater harmony between their teams. In addition, they outperform other organizations because they have more satisfied employees.