Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that today's children are more attracted to computer games than they were in previous. Many people think that playing computer games is wasting of time for children. Contrary to this popular fact, are those who argue that playing computer games can be beneficial for children if parents supervise. I, in a great extent, agree with the second group and firmly believe that playing computer games is not always wasting of time and can be utilized to entertain and teach children. My statement will be substantiated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, many psychologists agree that some types of games such as strategic games or puzzles can fortify the mental power of children. For example, during playing of a strategic computer game, children should think and react quickly to win the game, or during playing of a puzzle, children should think and get the result in a limited time. Recently a research has been conducted in University of Washington about the relation of mental power of teenagers and playing computer games. This research has clearly shown the direct association between the time of playing strategic games and mental ability of children aged between 10 to 14.

Secondly, among various types of games, some of them are educational and can be used as a supplementary material for school-aged children. By playing these games, children learn stuff related to their courses in school in a simple and attractive way. As I remember, when I was in elementary school many students had difficulties to remember the name of capital city of countries. At the time, our teacher introduced us a computer game related to the topic to play and told us he aims to hold a match among students in next month and reward the person who can obtain high score in this game. The game was about characteristics of different countries. All students played it more and more to win the prize. After one month, all students learned not only capital city of countries, but also learned about the culture and weather condition of countries.

Due to the aforementioned ground, I strongly believe that playing computer games is not always detrimental for children. If parents be careful about the choice of games, playing games is not only wasting of time, but also is beneficial for children.