Essay topics: TPO-19 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today a vast number of people tends to believe that in order to be well-informed a citizen ought to employ many different news sources. Although I understand the reasons on which this stance is based, I do not support it. The reasons on which my prospect is based will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, we live in a new informational age and a huge bulk of information is available for us on-line and off-line. Novel data keeps arriving continuously and endlessly. There is no stop, no pause in this process. If a person does not have a certain number of news resources which is restricted to one or two, the man will be forced to pointlessly try to separate important information from unimportant and relevant news from unworthy one.

Secondly, it may be quite expensive to look for news in many resources because buying magazines, newspaper issues, subscription to internet sites may cost an appreciable amount of money. For instance, a subscription to the Economist will cost you about 500$ per year, buying regularly the Wall Street Journal will take out of your pocket additional 500$; if you want to watch news on a cable television be prepared to pay even bigger amount of greenbacks. In other words, an adherence to a couple of different news resources will give you an indispensable opportunity to save money.

Finally, there is no need in scanning many news outlets in order to be informed. You can get a decent result with two sources which represent the opposed viewpoints on the issue. For instance, if you are American and you are interested in the Presidential elections, you may pick Democratic and Republican newspapers. By reading them a person will be able to create a comprehensive understanding of the current situation. One more example, if you are a Russian person who tries to understand the war in Syria, you may use European and Russian news outlets as a resource of information. The true facts will be mentioned in both sources, although their interpretation may differ dramatically.

To wrap up, using many resources of news is expensive and inefficient because of enormous volume of information which is pouring on us in every given moment; at the same time, choosing two news resources with opposed prospects on the issue will be relatively cheap and highly informative.