Experts suggest no more that two hours of screen time per day for children under 13. Do you think this is a good idea?

Some people agree with the experts in saying that children under the age of 13 should not spend more that two hours on electronic devices, while others disagree with the experts. Personally, I agree with the expert. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, adults should care about children’s health, and letting them spend more than 2 hours on screen might severely damage their health. Take my friend Todd as an example. Todd liked to use computer to play video games when he was young. As a result, he was nearsighted at the age of 8. Moreover, his terrible sitting posture injured his spine to a great extent, and he had to spend more than $1000 on his treatment. Evidently, putting into too much time on electronic devices seriously compromised his health. Nonetheless, had he spent more time exercising in his backyard, he would not get myopic or harm his spine at an extremely young age.

In addition, children should place an emphasis on their friendships, and allowing them to spend more than two hours on screen per day might affect their friendships. To be more specific, spending too much time on smartphones means that children have less time to spend with their friends. More precisely, if kids spend their whole day using his iPad to watch Youtube videos or enjoy movies, they may not have enough opportunity to meet and befriend new people. However, if they spend less time on screen during the weekend, they can spend their time having fun outside and hanging out with his friends. Most importantly, they can encounter and make acquaintance with new people. Apparently, preventing children from spending too much time on electronic devices can help them enjoy a wholesome life of friendship.

Last but not least, children should focus on their study, and spending too much time on electronic devices might affect their learning. To elaborate, putting into too much time on watching cartoons or entertaining programs on TV might make young people become lazy. Also, a significant number of video games are purposely designed to be addictive. As a result, if kids play too many of those games, they might eventually spend less time on their study. Nonetheless, if adults disallow them to use electronic devices for more than 2 hours, they can have more time to study. What’s more, they can also prevent their kids from watching too many shows that might have negative impact on their intelligence. Clearly, allowing children to use electronic devices for more than 2 hours will affect their learning ability.

In conclusion, I completely agree with these experts. This is because adults should focus on children’s health, friendship, as well as study.