The extended family (Grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

With the increasing globalization of the world and people seeking new opportunities in developed countries, I believe our extended family's relatives are every day less important than in previous years.

When our children go to college they seek independence, they want to find what life is all about when living on their own. Hence, they start losing contact not only with their own parents but also with the rest of the family. On the positive side, our children develop from an early age a sense of independence, they get ready to face the world for themselves. On the other side, this feeling of independence takes them away from close family members.

Moreover, once our children graduate from college or university, the most likely they are to continue their life on their own away from their extended family members. For instance, new job opportunities abroad will give the opportunity to settle down in faraway countries with foreign spouses and children of their own. Not like in the old days, where most of the families stayed in one place and most married people from around the area and grew their family close to other own relatives.

Lastly, families are becoming further apart. Gone are times when we used lived close together in the same house with our parents until we were almost adults. Nowadays relatives are living halfway across the planet and most of the time we are too busy even to place a phone call to our close ones.

Therefore, I believe our extended family has lost its value that used to have in older days. There is less communication going on between them and us