The extended family(grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Family, and relatives are an important part of our life, and even if we do not like some of them still they are connected with us by blood. Personally, I believe that the notion of the family is being tighter and more tighter day by day , so cousins now are less closer than they were a few decades ago.

I feel this way for two reasons,which I will explore in the subsequent essay.

First of all, people now a days are more independent from the family, because they are more related to the general society, and spend more time with friends than family. Now, when the children become eighteen years old they earn a terrible freedom. Some of them start to live by themselves, and this means less contact with the family members, so when they will create their own families It is not going to be a strong bond between them and

My personal experience is a compelling example of this. My father has 3 uncles and each of them 6 kids, and they used to live together with grandparents in a big house. All the kids grew up together and all loved each other as siblings. when my grandfather passed away it was a big lose for the family, especially for his kids, my father, uncles and aunts, but, they recuperated them selves in a short time because their grandparents and uncles were there for them, and took care for them as they were their kids. Today, after 45 years my father respects and loves his uncles and his cousins as brothers and sisters. Moreover even me and my siblings love them the same way, I can not separate them from my real uncles, because for me they are the same, but now It is hard to find that relation, because people do not live together and do not spend time with each other.

Secondly, people work for long hours and many days , so they do not have time to see each other, and the days off they spend just to rest.

For instance, when I was a kid I used to visit my aunt almost every day and playing with my four cousins, but that lasted until we grew up, because than everything changed. I started university, the other cousin got married, one immigrated to another state, and the other one started to work. Thus, we almost never had the chance to spend long time together. everyone started her own life and the bond started to fade away.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the raports with relatives have changed a lot compared to the past. This because people are more independent now and spend more time with friends than family,

, and because they are more busy now, they work for long hours, thus they do not have time to visit their aunts, uncles and grandparents, moreover sometimes they even do not find time for their siblings and parents too.