Friends and their impact on academics

Friends have more impact on the academic performance of students than their teachers do. Do you agree or disagree? Use details and examples to support your opinion.

It is my firm belief that friends have more impact on the academic performance of than their teachers. As human being we often do tasks which are directly effected by our peers and academic performance is also one of them. I will explain my reasons for this opinion in following subsequent paragraphs.

Friends and peers are in contact of the each other most of the time throughout the day. Roughly 8-9 hours daily friends are in the contact with each other this directly reflects on the academic performance of the student. Giving my personal example, when I was in school i had a group of me and three other friends. We were in a same division from our first standard. Consequently we had our strong bond of friendship between us. We used to spend time in and off campus daily. We were excellent in academics throughout whole 10 years. But when one of my friend didn't chose junior college as ours after school. This directly hampered his academic performance. He was barely able to pass the college in the first year.

Friends directly impact academic performance. If the peer group is not interested in studies and interested in activities which will have negative impact on studies then this will affect academic performance quiet badly. Good friends often acts as a catalyst in improving academic performance. When I was in my 7th grade my friend Saurabh convinced me to take part in scholarship examination. With his help and continuous practice I was able to achieve great score in exam and I got the scholarship from the government. This was a great achievement for me in my career. Experiences like these has strengthened my opinion in this matter.

A 'friend' will always have a impact on our way of thinking and decision taking. In light of the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that academics performance of student is greatly impacted by friends.