Friends have more impact on the academic performance of students than their teachers do. Do you agree or disagree? Use details and examples to support your opinion.

There has been an argument regarding the issue of whether friends have more influence on the individual’s academic performance than their teachers. This is due to the diversified learning method, as the world has become changed. Some insist that teachers have greater impact on students’ academic results. Although this is certainly true in the past, students nowadays depend more on their peers in every aspect of their lives, not to mention academic performances.

To start with, a student can become strongest competitor of his or her classmates, giving academic motivation. To elaborate, when studying, it is certainly important to be inspired by others’ passion. This is why some students form a study group or watch “Study With Me” contents on YouTube. Looking at others who are great achievers by nature can provide an individual with the willingness to be successful and to study hard. On the other hand, teachers can encourage and cultivate students, but there is one thing teachers cannot help students with: being a competitor. For example, Koreans are well known for well-systemized education program. Students are compelled to try to better their record-breaking performances. In such situation, in prestigious high school of Korea, students study while watching “Study With Me” session uploaded on YouTube. A student interviewed that such program can facilitate strong motivation.

Another reason is that students can better share up-to-date educational information with each other. In detail, peers can share information about a good online-learning sites and communities where students can write their know-hows on. However, what teachers do is to lead students, to answer their questions, and to teach them, not to share some information with them. This is certainly a valuable position, but nowadays the world is flooded with many learning methods and valuable education tools. My own experience can best attest to this. When I was a high school student, I wanted to further investigate in biotechnology. However, because my high school didn’t provide students with biotechnology courses, I had to find out another education site. My friend, who were well-known with such information, let me know about the free online courses that offer advanced biotechnology. Thanks to her, I could cultivate my educational willingness.

To sum up, my contention is that peers, not teachers have more influence on one’s academic career. By getting both information and motivation from classmates, students can definitely stand to benefit.